Not A Review: Anarkali of Aarah

The story of a popular dancer girl (nachaniya, nachne-game wall) in Aarah (a town in Bihar) who sings double meaning songs who decides to give it back to an influential man, and how! The last time we saw Swara Bhaskar was in an absolutely inverted character in Nil Battey Sannatta. Again, the trailer of Anaarkali of Aarah was so enticing that it makes you want to watch the film.

I saw Anaarkali of Aarah in a complete houseful show and that’s what I was afraid of, that people would become indecent. But nothing happened. The film is made in a way that we love the nachnewali from the very start. Some of the songs were embarrassingly double-meaning, the kinds that would give out an embarrassing smile to a sophisticated audience. There were moments when I let out little screams or covered my mouth with both my hands. It unapologetically reminded me of Pink and surprisingly, I could relate to Anarkali’s character more than the girls in Pink, in spite of my life resembling more to the latter. It’s perhaps because of the treatment of the film. It seems more real. One thing I’d never forget about Pink is that Amitabh Bachhan won the awards for ‘Best Actor’ in various award functions for this film. Wasn’t this film about the three girls? Fortunately, that won’t be the case with Anaarkali of Aarah because it didn’t have any male superstar yet each and every character in the film makes a mark.

I had watched this film for Swara Bhaskar, Sanjay Mishra and Pankaj Tripathi; and giving another film that talks about ‘C for Consent’ a try. I went home with a lot more, especially the other C. C for Courage.


This was not a review because it was my personal experience of the film, as an ordinary viewer and I don’t believe in revealing any important detail of the film. I don’t think I can pass a verdict on films either. I’d say watch this if you seem to like the film from what I’ve experienced from the film.

Leave a Reply

