The Girl on the Rope

I feel like I am the girl on the rope
On the side of the road
Embracing dangers face to face
Just for some applaud
And some pennies perhaps.

 

They are looking at me
While I am walking on the rope
It is not enough to go just one way
And just towards the end of it
It starts to get boring.

 

And I must do something more
They are looking at me
Some excited to see me walk
Some would love to watch me fall
But I must not fall.

 

So I take out two small balls from the pocket
And juggle them while walking
O ya, that seems to have worked
It just works fine
And just when I turn to walk back where I started..

 

One ball falls from my hand
So I throw down the other
Just so that they know it was a part of the act
Then they throw a huge stick towards me
I catch it and walk holding it..

 

And then there are a few rings thrown on the stick
By now I am tired
And I may fall
There is no safety
No one standing by guard..

 

I can’t smile anymore
My face lets out a frown.
I see I am towards the end of the rope
And look it’s over
I come down.

 

But there are just few people waiting there
Some have left giving some pennies
The applauders stand there staring at me
They are happy but not so much
And I know they won’t pay.

 

They won’t pay
You know why?
Because I did not smile enough
That at one point
I frowned.

Leave a Reply

